by zoey Globe (novimatrem.uk)

Released: 02/Jan/2023 at 10:55PM Last edited: 26/Apr/2023 at 07:45PM

Due to hardware compatibility concerns that I cannot overcome, regardless of driver, setting, or distro, I am forced, against my will, to migrate entirely over to Windows 10, after being unable to come up with a solution or alternative. It is a sad day, I used Linux non-stop as my primary and only OS for 7 and a half years. But I’m not wasting a grand’s worth of investment on this hardware by not taking advantage of it, now.

Tip: If you truly do need to run Linux, go with NVIDIA for your graphics card vendor. That is all.

EDIT: Late-April 2023- spent almost 3 days straight trying once again to make Linux work with my graphics card, the AMD Radeon RX 6700 XT, and it’s still not good news. Linux (basically any and all distros) does not work well at all on my card, when it comes to gaming, no matter what I do or try. Given my card works fine on Windows, and in Linux it’s performing worse than the EVGA NVIDIA GTX 1060 3gb I had prior, it’s a driver issue. Remember when fglrx was still a thing, before 16.04, and AMD cards just worked on Linux, and worked pretty well- and the driver wasn’t horrific to install? I miss that. I’ve tried everything I can possibly think of, and research, and I can’t make it work as well as a basically freshly installed current version of Windows would. As such, I’ll have to wait until at least the next LTS of Ubuntu, Ubuntu 24.04, before I consider trying again, and hope that it’s better, then. I’m quite sad at the lacking quality of AMD’s efforts, in particular.

That’s all for this post, thanks for reading! I wish you a great week.

Feel free to subscribe to my blog with RSS

If you’d like to learn more of me, and the things I do, my website does a great job of that; https://novimatrem.uk/

You can e-mail me with thoughts, feedback, etc. at TheNovimatrem@protonmail.ch

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. (CC BY-SA 4.0) https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/

face2024