by zoey Globe (novimatrem.uk)

Released: 10/Sep/2023

It seems there has been some confusion around the prefix “cis”, and what it means, so let me explain.

First and foremost, the prefix cis is not an insult. It has roots in chemistry before it ever was used in the way you’ve most likely seen it. It literally means “on the same side of”. Let me explain.

In regards to gender, someone who is cisgender is someone who identifies with the same gender the doctor assigned them at birth.

So in short, and in general, “cis” can be replaced in your head with the phrase “non-trans”, if you’d find that a more descriptive term, because that’s literally all it means.

There is nothing wrong with being cis, the mass majority of people are. It’s the default, but it’s not the only. It is not an insult, same as how ‘trans’ isn’t an insult either.

It’s good to stay informed and not let the miasma of hateful creatures, and the content they create, attempt to overtake your rationality and mislead you.

Have a nice day.

That’s all for this post, thanks for reading! I wish you a great week.

Feel free to subscribe to my blog with RSS

If you’d like to learn more of me, and the things I do, my website does a great job of that; https://novimatrem.uk/

You can e-mail me with thoughts, feedback, etc. at TheNovimatrem@protonmail.ch

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. (CC BY-SA 4.0) https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/

face2024